Before You Were Mine

guy-1955734_1920You know how it feels when you first meet someone when that attraction is repelled by caution – caution for what they might really be like and caution for not wanting to come on too heavy. Yet you can’t help thinking about what it might be like to be physical with this person. I’m not really talking about chemistry, not even about lust, but about how the imagination runs wild at the prospect of being intimate with this person long before it is even on the cards.

Before you were mine…

I used to imagine what it would be like to feel your lips on mine.
Would they be soft or firm?
Would your kisses be gentle and slow? Or passionate and urgent?
Would our tongues dance together?

Before you were mine…

I used to imagine what it would be like to run my hand through your hair.
And gently slide it down to the small of your back.
To pull you in close and breathe in the unique scent of you.
Would you have let me then?

Before you were mine…

I used to imagine waking up with you next to me, your arm stretched across my chest.
And your head resting on my shoulder.
You’d notice me wake and lean forward to kiss me gently before resting again.
Did you imagine it too?

Before you were mine…

I searched your Facebook, your blog, your Flickr for different angles of you,
different from what you presented on the dating site.
Wearing shorts or a low cut top, or just a photo of you looking beautiful or sexy in my eyes,
Did you Facebook stalk me too?

Before you were mine…

I used to image what you looked like naked. I noticed your womanly body,
Even though I didn’t make it obvious I was noticing.
Undressing every inch of you with my eyes.
And wondering, wondering… will I ever see such beauty uncovered?

Before you were mine…

I used to fantasise about having sex with you, craving the day we’d fuck for real.
Feeling your legs wrapped around my waist, crushing our bodies together.
And call out your name at the point of orgasm.
Did I ever enter you in your dreams?

What did you think?

